Chicago State University

Teaching Reciprocity - Getting Certified in Other States

Getting certified to teach in Illinois makes it easier to get your teaching certificate in most other states.

The State of Illinois participates in a reciprocal teacher certification agreement with the states listed below via the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Interstate Certification Contract. This agreement makes it easier for teachers certified in one state to become certified teachers in another state.

Some states require teacher certification applicants to take a competency exam and/or fulfill other special requirements such as taking a state history course. The requirements in each state are different and the best course of action for anyone seeking certification is to contact the Department of Education in the appropriate state.

Learn more about the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement

These states participate in the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement:

  • Alabama

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • California

  • Colorado

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware

  • District of Columbia

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Hawaii

  • Idaho

  • Indiana

  • Kansas

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Maine

  • Maryland

  • Massachusetts

  • Michigan

  • Mississippi

  • Montana

  • Nevada

  • New Hampshire

  • New Jersey

  • New Mexico

  • New York

  • North Carolina

  • Ohio

  • Oklahoma

  • Oregon

  • Pennsylvania

  • Rhode Island

  • South Carolina

  • Tennessee

  • Texas

  • Utah

  • Vermont

  • Virginia

  • Washington

  • West Virginia

  • Wyoming